Water Heater

The water heater has gone out. I can’t relight it so I’m going to assume it needs to be repaired or possibly replaced. Oddly enough I’m not that upset about the situation.

boiling waterYes it’s cold out, no I haven’t had a bath today and yes I have dishes that need to be washed but here’s a truism I have consider: I still have running water and electricity and a stove. The convenience  is gone but I’m not completely down. I can still boil water so that I can HAVE hot water.

 

Sure things are going to take a little longer to get done but they’ll get done and what’s so bad about learning to slow life down anyway?

Stepping back from all this I’m realizing there is a much bigger lesson happening here than learning to be patient to get things done- I’m learning that for all the wonderful things gives us technology can really be a pain in the ass. Things go along fine when you have it and when it’s gone, you’re almost lost.

I’m choosing not to be lost.

I’m going to have to get creative to have the things I WANT to have but isn’t that how we bring progress about? Well, I think it is anyway.

Do you want to know who doesn’t panic about the water heater being broken? The Amish. Indigenous people. Folks living off the grid. And ya know, I’m beginning to think they have it right. They’ve exchanged the problems of a technology based life for a complete other set of problems in life known as living. www.socialphotos.com and www.brazilphotos.com

So here we are- no hot water, no idea when I’ll have it fixed and a great chance to learn how not to rely on technology.

, , , , , , , , ,

