October 15th 2012

That awkward moment when you realize Americans care more about a skydiver than they do the 49 million of their own citizens going hungry. -D.S. Gagnon

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by myatheistlife on October 15, 2012 - 5:09 am

    I’ve been looking for a poster/picture/painting that I saw long ago. It was of Icarus and Prometheus which depicted this very thought on the faces of the two as they fall to their death and life below them went on as scheduled. It can be understood several ways, but I think it is nihilist at its core. Like when we humans think ‘fuck the rest of the world, my problems count, why can’t I pick a good fantasy football team’ and over half the world would trade us places in less than a heart beat. While one human soars to new records, about 86 people starved to death somewhere in the world.

