Frustration and Opportunity

This past week I started a new position. Of course, all the nerves, apprehension and excitement went with it but I wasn’t expecting to hate it as much as I did.

I found myself frustrated as my first two days at work were confusing, overwhelming and extremely physically demanding. I was ready to quit. But I pushed through that urge and stuck with it and now I am glad to have this job.

Of course I’m happy about the benefits, a steady pay check and being able to have a job when so many others can’t in these tough economic times- but there’s something more. I realized this position was going to give me the ability not only to pay my bills but to also help others who are struggling.

I live in one of the poorest counties in Illinois and I have seen many who have struggled to put adequate food on the table. I’ve heard too many people saying that they are living on peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, ramen noodles and if their lucky, a breakfast burrito from McDonald’s.

It breaks my heart.

And yet, I had the gull to be pissy about an opportunity I was given to have a steady pay check and access to adequate food. SHAME. ON. ME.

Now that I’ve come to this realization I’ve asked myself: What will I do with it? What will I do about the fact that I can cover my bills AND help others? I’ve chosen to help, even if only in the smallest way I can.

I want to offer a challenge: The next time you hate your job and want to quit, remember that the aggravation, the frustration, the tiring hours, and the pay checks are all opportunities to help others

, , , , , ,

