Something Wrong or Something Right

There’s somethin’ wrong with the world today
I don’t know what it is
Something’s wrong with our eyes

We’re seeing things in a different way
And God knows it ain’t His
It sure ain’t no surprise

We’re livin’ on the edge

Living on the Edge by Aerosmith

There is indeed something wrong with the world today. I scroll through the news and see greedy, lying politicians, sons evicting their 90 plus year old mother from her home, read of children starving and read stories of governments attacking their own people with violent military force. I see the rich getting richer, the poor getting poorer and the destitute of society cast aside.

What has humanity become?

With all the violence, greed, egotism, and corruption happening in the world I find it all too easy to suggest that humanity is nothing worthy of praise. But even though there is so much wrong in the world, I know there is still so much right in the world.

A few years ago I was doing yard work for an elderly lady who attends my mother’s church. She’s the “Everybody’s Grandma” type and she has given me the greatest lesson I think anyone could carry in life.

While I worked in her yard she related to me that people had stolen produce from her garden. Now mind you, she was already in her mid 80’s, living by herself, gardening by herself, and someone stole her produce.

Her story surprised me. While I was seething at the very thought that someone had stolen from this sweet lady, she was explaining: “I would have given them whatever they wanted. All they had to do was ask.”

I was shocked. Had I been 80 plus years and someone stole from my garden, not only would I have been swearing like a sailor, I would have been beyond angry. But not this lady. She was more annoyed at the very principal of the thing- “All they had to do was ask.”

How many people do you know would forgive so quickly and only be bothered by the principal of “All they had to do was ask.”

What would happen if all of us forgave so quickly and gave so generously? What would happen if we helped people without expectation? Would things still be wrong in the world today?

What will you choose? To be that something wrong  or be that something right in the world?

, , , , , , , ,

