What Would it be Like?

Throughout my day of doing laundry, making the bed up, fixing dinner, taking care of my animals, I’ve been reflecting quite a bit on all the things I have to be thankful for.

Too often it seems that we, especially in America, take things for granted and only remember to be thankful for what we have the day before we trample into stores to buy more.

Tonight I tweeted: What would this world be like if we stopped to remember how blessed we are and then proceed to give our excess away (to those) who have much less?

I can’t help but feel that many people wouldn’t dream of giving away their excess anything especially concerning matters of money. I dare say that money has profited the human race nothing except corruption.

Politicians will drop millions upon millions of dollars just to campaign to win some big election that will allow them to further harm humanity, put money into the pockets of special interest groups and ultimately, send a child to bed hungry every single night. The practice is shameful.

If one is to lead, then that ability will be noticed- wasting millions on elections whilst fellow country men are starving, is perhaps the worst savagery I can think of.

I have but little to my name but I’m happy and thankful for the things I do have. And though I have to constantly remind myself, I try to give as much as I can to those in need.

What would this world be like if we stopped to remember how blessed we are and then proceed to give our excess away (to those) who have much less? 

This is the question I’ve been considering this evening as I’ve been realizing how grateful I am for all the things in my life and how dismayed I am at how quickly politicians will blow millions of dollars just to gain power.

Where is our sense of humility? Our sense of, for lack of a better term, brotherly love? How barbaric are human beings that they would blow insane amounts of money just to gain political prestige whilst fellow country men are starving?

Nature never intended it to be a case of: Every man for himself. Hyenas work in packs to get food and everyone partakes, so do golden eagles, dolphins and a plethora of other creatures. Human beings, so it seems, are the only ones arrogant enough to forget their blessings and refuse to share with another living thing.

Of course not all human beings are this selfish- the problem is, there seems to be too few unselfish humans as every day and night people die from starvation.

What would this world be like if we stopped to remember how blessed we are and then proceed to give our excess away (to those) who have much less? 

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

