Poor But Happy

 

 

Choose a job you love and you will never have to work a day of your life. -Confucius

 

 

I have been rather lucky in my “working” career. For the most part I have enjoyed the jobs I had and when I wasn’t happy, it was nothing for me to leave them. Things always had a way of working out. (Mind you there is lots of saving, planning and back up plans involved in just leaving a job.)

Lately, I’ve been given a bit of a reprieve from the daily clock in/clock out schedule many of us face. This has given me a chance to work on research for my books (I usually have about 5 projects going at one time…), work part time for a radio station and put effort into my food blog, Clean Your Plate.

Today I spent quite a bit of time researching local restaurants deciding to add a new feature to the blog. While I don’t get paid to do Clean Your Plate, yet, I really enjoy the work.

The more I look at life the more I’ve realized that it is imperative that people at least like the work they are doing. It’s important for the working class to be in a good environment, surrounded by good people and good customers. It’s easy to tell when a person likes their work and when they don’t. And lately, I’ve decided, if I’m not happy in a job, the job is not for me.

Of course we must use good judgment when deciding to leave a job, but we must also recognize that the pay check at the end of the 2 week pay period isn’t going to buy us happiness and without happiness what’s the point?

I’m going to stick to working at the radio station, work on my books, business plan for my own restaurant (because I certainly won’t work in anyone else’s kitchen ever again), pursue my blogging efforts and the like because whilst it’s true I’m poor, I’m also very happy.

 

 

Money never made a man happy yet, nor will it. The more a man has, the more he wants. Instead of filling a vacuum, it makes one. -Benjamin Franklin

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

