The Right to Speak

In a world, and yes I do mean world, where we are protected by a Universal set of laws guaranteeing our rights to express our opinions and to hold opinions without interference and to seek, receive and impart information and ideas through any media and regardless of frontiers (1), there certainly is a lot of whining about what is said about whom or what.

In a country where the people are guaranteed by law that the abridging the freedom of speech (2) won’t happen, people still seek to silence people who voice their opinion and or are voicing facts.

Ultimately, here’s the deal: People can say what they want concerning their opinions and facts about anything and no one has the right not to be offended. This includes everything from religion to politics, businesses and the conduct of businessmen- to how badly the nightly news sucks to how great that new cooking show is. And if you don’t like it, tough. This is the world we live in: A world where we wanted the right to say and express what we want and guess what- we get to voice our opinions and report those facts without fear of retribution because the laws that govern the US as well as the UN guarantee it. Don’t like it? Then move to a country that has no such laws.

This has become a hot topic for me as just today I was reprimanded for stating a fact. The individual doing the reprimanding did not know the entire situation under which my statement was made but felt it necessary to tell me to shut up. Needless to say I didn’t appreciate it. I don’t appreciate someone attempting to silence me or anyone for that matter. Even if we don’t agree you are entitled to your opinion and I to mine. After all, that is what we voted for in our laws.

The next time you wish someone would just shut up about their opinion or about legitimate facts stop and think, “Hey, would I want someone telling me to do that?” I’ll just best the answer is, “No, no I wouldn’t.”

1 The Universal Declaration of Human Rights

2 Bill of Rights 

, , , , , , ,

