Danger or Opportunity

When written in Chinese the word “crisis” is composed of two characters – one represents danger and the other represents opportunity.  ~John F. Kennedy, address, 12 April 1959 (Thought of the Day, December 3rd 2011)

Is “danger” plus “opportunity” equal “crisis” in Chinese?

Is the Chinese symbol crisis made up of “danger” and “opportunity” as is often quoted?

First of all, the Chinese symbol crisis is not one symbol but two.

The symbols for crisis in Chinese are made up of these two words:

They are pronounced wei1 ji1.

wei means “danger; peril”.

And ji means “opportunity; crucial point”

So literally wei plus ji equals “danger” plus “oportunity”. (1)

I have felt completely in crisis this past week. I’ve blogged a bit about it but have for the most part kept the details to myself as there is no practical use dwelling on the failings of other people that have ultimately led me to creating an opportunity for myself.

While I’m highly annoyed at the lack of professionalism and abundance of immaturity of people it serves little purpose to dwell on these issues in what I had deemed a time of crisis in my life. Rather, it became more prudent to focus on how I will handle this time of crisis.

Throughout my life I’ve heard a lot of whining about how unfair life is. I’ve done A LOT of complaining about life myself but I’ve realized through the painful process of growing up that positive things don’t just come about. You have to work at it. That is how nature has designed things.

While it would be extremely easy for me at this time, especially at the holiday season and terrible economic climate, to have fallen into a depression I’ve opted instead to look at the many positives that have come about and the opportunity that has presented itself.

It’s really a matter of attitude in thought, you see.  Things are only as we allow ourselves to seem them as.

What will you choose in crisis? Danger or opportunity?

 

Source

1 Living Chinese Symbols


, , , , ,

