Arrogance is the Result of Ignorance

I’ve woken up cranky. It has nothing to do with the fact that I’m sick, have to go to the doctor and then drive my mother to the train station, a four hour round trip, in the middle of the night just so I can turn around and go to work in the morning- I’m cranky because ignorant people think they are so clever.

Last night I tweeted: Does anyone know of any good beginner gardener books?

This morning I find this as a response: I think Genesis might be considered the ultimate beginners guide to horticulture. It is very basic, anyway.

I’m sure that this individual, this atheist individual, thinks they are so funny and clever. The only thing they are successful at, in my opinion, is proving just how incompetent they truly are in their beliefs or lack there of.

If  “The constant assertion of belief is an indication of fear” (Jiddu Krishnamurti) then it stands to reason that the constant assertion of disbelief is an indication of fear.

I’ve learned that if you can’t be comfortable in what you believe regarding the divine, odds are you are incompetent in those beliefs. If one cannot simply be who they are without asserting what they are then there’s a problem.

When I come across those who argue, what I am is who I am then I know right away they have no idea who they are.

One who understands much displays a greater simplicity of character than one who understands little.- Alexander Chase

In my life these days, I don’t really focus on the fact that I have no belief system. I’m too busied worrying about how to support and love my family, help those around me in need to the best of my abilities and worrying about trying to figure out how to make this hell hole of a world just a little bit better for everyone. I don’t have the time or the energy to waste on a theological question that can’t be answered until one is dead. If there is a god, who cares? If there isn’t who cares? Honestly, if we put HALF the effort into being better people towards our fellow man as we did arguing over whose god had the biggest dick, peace might actually be achieved.

Think of how you want others to perceive you: a swaggering ogre who is so cocky in his own ignorance that he comes off as a dick or a nice who guy who is more concerned about other people’s welfare rather than what they believe- then strive to achieve that.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

